Newbie here, sad day

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Angora Acres

Reaction score
Hi folks!

I am new to bunnies. I was given an English Angora doe a month ago. At the time I had a REW English Angora buck. He managed to hop in her pen and breed her though I didn't think he'd managed at the time.

He died a week later. Unknown causes though I suspect he overheated. :(

Sophie, the doe, went to the vet a couple of weeks ago who didn't find any kits upon palpitation. Well, vet was wrong! Sophie had one kit Thursday morning.

Well that poor kit died this afternoon. Nothing obvious. Well fed. In a nice nest box with plenty of mama fur. No diarrhea. In fact I saw two micro pellets in the box next to the kit and had witnessed urination.

Darn it. What a way to start out with bunnies. :oops:

I've raised angora goats and Dorset/Romney sheep and chickens for 13 years now. I want to lower my numbers of these larger animals and work with the angora rabbits, for fiber and replacement breeders for other fanciers.

I've been through a lot of death with kid goats and lambs and chicks so I'm relatively hardened to the realities of life with breeding animals.

But, being new to bunnies, I'm also on a learning curve here and feeling terrible, wondering if I missed something.

Did I handle it too much? I was picking it up a couple of times a day to check on full tummy. I didn't always wash my hands before. Maybe bacteria?

Did Sophie doe squish something when she stepped on it last night (it screamed)?

Did it get too hot? The inside room with the nest box in it was about 75 degrees today. The kit had crawled to the top of the fur but maybe that wasn't enough cooling.