Magpie Question

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

miniquilts

Reaction score
So in an effort to increase the meat production on my magpie Harlequins I am considering breeding my blue magpie doe to a REW New Zealand. Am I correct in my assumption that the kits should come out chin and magpie ? I am not very good with colour gentics

Almost

You should definitly get chinchilla but rather than magpie you should get harlequinized chinchilla as it is highly unlikely your NZ carries non extension or harlequin

Also, steel chin/silver tipped steel is a strong possibity as this gene is quite common in REW rabbits

If self is carried by both parents you may get self chin blacks, or really dark steel chinchilla which look like they are "black" but actually agouti based :cheesysmile:

Thank you so much Dood ! So I should save two back and breed the two to produce magpies ?

heritage":10v2i5gt said:
Harlequinized chinchilla?? Anyone have a pic? :p

Oh. and the dark steel chinchilla? How does it differ from just a steel?

It makes a silver tipped steel rather than a gold tipped. It's very pretty.

This is apparently the best photo I have of one.

6HaSDun3tA3CuRmfMRo3IomVqT0buTF8Wc46aMdimRi-nnZ-3TZBDShMnzhV-7hUGFgutghHSSwkvA9sCQldLarFwAxEMvkskqpOvt6GKDetU-cPB_FPiQFw2BDGnSbG676to7NQGao8hS0nBa3CPuQmdgrgnJlROB1dvM6roakbClfmYLQT9_WYQvXwMJf8jyI_xDJuToqlxoNGwBoqpO2ISUQfgMf34mElPsFl07BK4XvsErQEIInATHTYgEt9s8hAqtg2BPM8SejzSoyHJy8tQ2iuEVzCP3kUGNHonRaJwVHkmNtPhIxFgjNi5Z75Cpg3y7khZvdmN-Wq6ENIxdaWDyvrb7bxpvbL-rrYiJFNp9FmhuJsmZ_NASnvMrED64fuWaK8AMtPfOJPwGLs6jZJfzY1R96ENGolUGty9QrU9mpVOgn3xRQ7Dy9ud4yCt7_ig_JQyCDI2-PnYyvUI7W9anIxcROy82HIwrMjmc6ph4s929ADX_jdre2rU56NMuFIRR8ZSjGADBIm7RMDDsy6Zo_ic8j8jUYQvCACC9CWopvvxezxMit0_kdQj3tS7mGGji-wmUmm0jW4kJ_SbTyVGx3xGqc=w901-h676-no