QC & Ontario Show Questions / help!

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MegMTL

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm interested in showing but am curious how it works if there are only a couple of shows in your area per year?

I just got 3 American Chinchilla Kits 8 weeks old and there's one ARBA show this weekend in Ormstown. I think there may be one more show near me this summer but that's it.

I am a veteran Hunter/Jumper show rider and with horses you must show in your "league" (local, provincial or national) to gain points. Those who gain top points qualify for the Royal in Toronto. Is it similar for the rabbits? I know there are livestock at the Royal so?

Also if my rabbits do not have tattoos, am I supposed to tattoo them myself? They also did not come with papers, so I know they can't win grand champion or anything. I'm hoping to show them and breed them so that the great grand kits will have papers and can be registered.

Is this even possible? TIA!!!! <br /><br /> __________ Wed Jun 08, 2016 7:01 am __________ <br /><br /> rabbit1.jpgI should add that the kits did come from a lady who was a registered breeder a few years back but has scaled down and no longer shows. So the rabbits are from good lines and are very beautiful just not papered or registered.

So you would enter in open shows. Which is basically anything that's not youth.

Yes, they need to be tattooed in order to show in ARBA shows. Often there are people at the shows who are will to do that for you.

I know there is a big ARBA show in Spencerville, Quebec, in September as well.
I suggest going through Facebook if you have it to do most of your show searching.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/lapinsduquebec/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/ontariorabbitcavy/
Here are two good places to start. A lot of shows will have a buy/sell group for the specific show.