Giant Flemish Colour questions

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MegMTL

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to Giant Flemish Rabbits. I acquired two from a local man who breeds them, NZW, and some mini breeds. I didn't do enough research on the colours before going and picked out two of the friendliest of two separate litters. I ended up choosing a male who is "black" well looks steel only the ticking (if that is what it is called) is more brown rather than grey. The other is a fawn female and looks perfect, however in the same litter there were broken white and fawn coloured ones?

What does this mean? The place was very well set up and the people seemed very knowledgeable, however they breed for meat not for show. Can they still be pure GF just unrecognized colours? I have some pics but I should probably get some better ones of the fur up close.

I have also done a lot of research since acquiring them and discovered a lot about how it is imperative to breed only specific colours together. I've seen a lot of mention where not following the guidelines can be "detrimental" however no where does anyone state what the repercussions are... Is it just related to the colour itself and the complications from removing certain colour genes down the road? or are there real dangers such as causing physical mutations and health risks? I'd love some insight!

I've read a lot of colour charts online and calculators and have completed college level biology so I do understand basic genealogy. I am also curious if some colours are both dominant do you get co-dominant where the colours mesh together? Ex Black + White = grey instead of 50 white and 50 black? (a very basic example) TIA :)