Raising Quail Question

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Celice

Reaction score
Well, with the good things you guys have been saying about Quail and the benefits of their eggs and meat, I've decided to start raising quail. Now, where I'm at I have to be careful what kind of Quail I get since my state can get picky (example: I can't have more than 25 native game birds like bobwhites), and it's SUPER hard to find people with quail to sell ether hatching eggs or chicks. So, thank the lucky stars above for Ebay and I've bought myself 48 Jumbo Pharaoh Coturnix Quail Eggs that I plan on hatching out myself. I've never done this before but from what I've been reading and youtube-ing they are not different than chicken eggs only with a shorter hatch date and are much easier to hatch out than chickens.

Now I know people always say not to raise them with chickens since quail are so fragile to everything and anything the chickens can carry. I do have a 6ft x 3ft pen that we had built for chicks once a pun a time ago; we have since cleaned it out and whatnot but the problem is that it's inside the chicken coop and we can't get it out. The chickens can't get in it and nether can their droppings. I have raised a pair of Ring Necked Pheasants with chickens with no issues and they both lived a very long and happy life.

Since I've never done this before and you guys have more experience with quail do you guys think it would still work for the quail? if not I do have a spare rabbit hutch I can shove them in until further notice. (sorry, not sorry! :D)

On a side note I am also going to get a pair of juvenile Blue Scale Quail but because they are a native bird I have to be careful how many I have but I don't mind since they are more for eye-candy anyway. Though I maybe able to hatch out some of those eggs too.