Parakeet

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Easy Ears

Reaction score
I may be getting a Parakeet within the year! :D I've always wanted one!
First I want to know a few things!

-Do males and females have about the same temperament? Or is one generally a better pet over the other? (Because I know with rabbits I would prefer a buck over a doe as a pet)

-What do you feed your parakeets besides bird feed? What brand of bird feed do you buy?

-What size cage is best for a parakeet?

-Any essential things I need to know?

I'm so excited, but I still need to do lots of research! I've never owned any kind of bird before, so I am very new at this.
Are there any other birds anyone would recommend as good pets? I would consider birds other than parakeets as well! :)

The common parakeet is called a budgie. You will want a handraised one or at least one joint human and parent raised if you have limited experience handling birds. Budgies do not tame as easily as something like a cockatiel if they aren't handled from a very young age and consistently throughout their lives. Your typical pet store budgie may or may not become tame enough for a lot of touching. If you know nothing about birds or don't have the time to spend they may never become tame enough to handle beyond moving them around using a perch between you and them. It's a risk of pet store birds compared to spending the time and money to find a good breeder raised bird.