Do you prefer your rabbit to taste like rabbit?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

a7736100

Reaction score
I used to cook them with just a bit of salt and they taste and smell like rabbit. Now a little spice will cover the rabbit smell and taste. Slow cooking it with a sauce and you wouldn't be able to tell the kind of meat it is.

I'm still new to eating it.
I eat it happily in jambalaya or stew or something where it is just standing in as protein.
I still have trouble with straight up rabbit~ and it is silly.
But there is a smell and a slight taste and texture difference from chicken (and honestly, why is chicken the baseline?!LOL).
I had to cook and freeze a bunch lately (long story) and even in the crock pot with BBQ sauce I couldn't handle that meat, maybe the cooking/freezing made it stronger.

I will get better at cooking it and eating it, I'm sure!

My family has noticed some kind of gland or node in the fat deposits of all 4 legs (similar to where you would find them in most other mammals I've processed.) They insist I remove those, and that makes the rabbit tastier. I'm not really sure, but it has become a habit to remove.

Other than that, yeah, rabbit is good tasting like rabbit. Ground rabbit is especially appreciated for it's own taste. I'd eat it over ground chicken any day.

Zass":7x10exjq said:
My family has noticed some kind of gland or node in the fat deposits of all 4 legs (similar to where you would find them in most other mammals I've processed.) They insist I remove those, and that makes the rabbit tastier. I'm not really sure, but it has become a habit to remove.

What???
Could you post a pic?

Rabbitdog":131rhja1 said:
Zass":131rhja1 said:

What???
Could you post a pic?

Certainly, if I can remember when I process next. :D

Drool! Love rabbit and love rabbit taste.

My favorite is a quick cook in mustard. YUM