Biting Buck

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JudyM

Rabbit Talk Supporter
Reaction score
I am new to this bunny business and have had trouble getting my questionably blind buck and proven doe to breed. Well tonight they apparently mated 3 times and it looked like along with or just prior to the fall off, the buck bit the doe, all three times. The third time the doe screamed. I'm thinking this isn't normal buck behavior. I 'm also thinking that the doe might be a little tense about breeding again. Please tell me I'm wrong!

It's hard to say, Judy. Some rabbits have long memories and hold grudges . . . others not so much.

It sounds as though the breeding was successful though. If you get kits from it, I suggest you save the best, nicest young buckling from it with a view to using him for future breeding. I suspect, though, that by the time you breed your doe to him again she will have forgotten that bit of roughness.

some bucks are VERY rough with the does. I personally don't keep bucks that are like that as there is no need for them to be so rough.

A lot of bucks will bite the nape of the neck of does. I don't think the doe will have any problems in the future- he may have nipped just a bit too hard that time, but she also may have just been done with his amorous attentions.

Rabbits don't always scream out of fear or pain- quite a few of us have bucks that are "screamers" and scream after they fall off. :lol:

ladysown":kb1c6fsr said:
I personally don't keep bucks that are like that as there is no need for them to be so rough.

A friend of mine has a buck who is very aggressive with the ladies and will NOT take no for an answer. If she has a doe that wont lift for other bucks, in with him she goes and he gets the job done.

Biting the nape of the neck or small of the back is normal. He probably just nipped a little too hard.