My holland lop's ears haven't lopped :(

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hummingbird

Reaction score
I am new to bunnies, and I am just a pet owner, but I am trying to learn more...
And I'm a bit concerned about my bunny.
I have a 5 month old holland lop doe that I got from a purebred show breeder...
When I got her at 8 weeks her ears were fully lopped. Then as she started growing, just a few weeks later, they airplaned and often stick straight up to this day, with no sign of going down. She does have pretty short, fat ears.
I do hope they lop because I think the lopped ears are cute.... and she looks kinda funny when they are up.
I also am so confused about why they were lopped before and now they're not.
I'm wondering how I can tell if she has a narrow crown or if she is just in a funny growth phase... how can I tell if they ever will lop? I have read a bit about narrow crowns and she doesn't seem to have any other warning signs, like ear placement and curling, and her ears are supposedly the perfect shape (short, fat and fall right below her chin). Her head does seem a little small, but she is still growing, and I think her un-lopped ears distort the way her head looks.
Thanks!

Holland lops are funny.

They can have completely lopped ears at five weeks, be airplaning by three months and be lopped again up to 11-13 months. (go figure).

They can be NOT lopping at all by 8 weeks and be completely lopped (and stay lopped) by three months.

They can also be completely lopped at 8 weeks and then airplane as an adult or even be upright (or one up and one down).

It all depends on how the head is developing.
The fact that she was lopped as a baby suggests that she'll lop again, you just may need to be patient.

pics???