Am I Being Too Impatient?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JudyM

Rabbit Talk Supporter
Reaction score
Hello All! I am new to rabbits and this forum and of course have a lot to learn! The first thing at the moment is why my buck and doe aren't breeding. I'm fairly certain the buck is blind so I wonder if that has something to do with his reluctance in a new location.

I picked up 2 does and a buck on Feb. 7 and waited 2 weeks to let them adjust to their new home before attempting to breed them. That was last Saturday and Sunday. On both days the buck just chased her around the cage, never tried to mount her. She sniffed around and nibbled on his ears and cuddled next to him. It looked like she may have been nibbling on his back too. Anyway, I contacted the person I got them from and she said the doe wasn't ready and to wait 4 days. That was yesterday and the same thing happened.

Do I give them another break? Keep trying everyday? What would you do?

Welcome to RabbitTalk, JudyM. :hi:

At least the doe likes him! That is a big plus. It sounds like it is the buck's reluctance that is holding them back. Some chasing is normal though there are bucks that get right to it.

Couple of questions.

Do you take the doe to the buck's cage? That is the safest way to do it and in this case, if the buck is indeed blind, it could help him to be in his own cage.

How long are you leaving them together? Some rabbits need more time than others.

Did you flip the doe and check the colour of her vulva? The darker the more likely she is to be willing to breed.

There are a couple of "sticky" threads in the breeding forum on how to judge rabbits' readiness to breed. (I see MSD has posted a link to one of them.)

And there are no end of tricks that rabbit owners try to get a successful breeding.