Planning Stages of Setup, All input greatly appreciated :D

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RAWR

Reaction score
So I am just getting started in rabbits. Mostly for meat. Planning on Rexes and New Zealands (though I keep eyeing Blanc D'hotot, so that might be a later addition ;) ). We still haven't gotten set up with cages though, and I feel so new and clueless so any help is much appreciated!

I live in a very old house, but it is in a residential area where the houses are all pretty close together. It would actually be nice sizable (normal looking sized) lots if you took my house out and split the land between the two neighboring houses. So yeah, my backyard is not very big. There is a very old shed in the back. It has dirt floors and is sinking into the ground on one side so the whole thing is tilted. I was thinking it would be ideal for butchering since we only have a fence on 2 sides of the yard. My mother in law grew up with her parents raising rabbits and said they squealed during butchering once every 20 rabbits or so. Is this typical? Should I consider relocating to a family member that lives in a more spread out town (the next town over) when it comes time to butcher? I guess I just don't want to offend any neighbors.