thoughts on keeping as pet and for meat?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MoonSpiritMom

Reaction score
As you all know.. I'm new to this.

I was speaking with a few other families in my tiny community that raise rabbits for meat (some are actually related to the rabbits I'm getting, so have to keep track of who has who in case i need to breed new bloodlines into my rabbits) and the first thing out of thier mouths was "do not make any rabbit your pet!!" meaning.. do not get a pet rabbit at all.. because then you will see all of your rabbits as pets and theoretically you will have a hard time differentiating between the two (Meaties vs. pet)

I would really like to eventually have a line of rabbits that are for pets (show) only...but now I'm 2nd guessing that choice.

I dunno....! We will still have the rabbits for meat... my friends told me not to even name them.. they are livestock only.

Thoughts?

Do you have pet rabbits and meat rabbits... do you have an issue at all? I feel like i could differentiate between "Bunnychops" and Miss Maggie Sue sweetie Pie" you know?

I guess it depends on the breeder. Quite a few members here (myself included) have meat rabbits and pet rabbits. Now, I don't breed for pets, I just have some pet rabbits. One is a buck who ended up with wry neck, so he's a house rabbit now. Another buck, a little lionhead, was given to us, and he's a house bunny as well. They don't run across each other.

Then we do have a retired doe in the rabbitry, who would be a house bunny if we didn't already have two bucks in here.

All of our breeders have names and get treated like pets... even the ones who will eventually be replaced by offspring and end up in the freezer.