• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to Rabbit Talk and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member or just click here to donate.

First time selling rabbits.

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have decided I want to see 2 of my 8 week old rabbits from a litter of 4. We are keeping 2 for the breeding program, and selling the other 2. This is my first time selling, and I admit I am worried. Things like even though I know they may be bought for breeding stock, and such maybe even pets. So the fact that they be eaten one day does not bother me. What has me worried is that while they are alive will they be properly taken care of? I also wanted to ask about listing their breed. The Dame is Havana/Silver Fox, and the Sir is California. I ask, because on my Buyer Agreement there's a place for Rabbit Sex, Birthdate, and Breed. I want to know what I should I write for their breed? Should I write it as. Havana/Silver Fox/Californian, or just Meat Mutts? :lol:

they aren't a particular breed so list them either as meat mutts or California crosses.

If you are worried about the care that they will receive you have to decide if you would rather eat them yourself rather than selling them. Whenever you sell an animal you have to consider if you can handle it if they end up in a poor situation. Or you could simply assume the best of people. :)

Unfortunately there is nothing you can do once they are sold and they have to take their chances. I have a "no questions asked return policy" but I've only had a couple people follow up with this. I also feel I am pretty throrough and choosy about who I sell to and it is heart wrenching to see mini lops I've bred show up in classifieds ads