Bunny health care

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cookie

Reaction score
Hi

I'm new to bunny pets. My bun is about 11 weeks. He is awesome.

Do bunnies need shots like puppies do?

I'm noticing a little crust on bunny's fur around his nose / nostrils. I can't tell if it's boogies or from his food or something from when he was sniffing around. Should I be concerned?

Thanks!

Bunnies do not need annual shots like dogs, at least you don't in the US. But it may be different were other people live though.

Do you have a picture? Discharge from the nose is usually a sign of a sick rabbit.
Are you sure its just not dried water? Is the crust colored? If it is green or yellow I would guess it is mucus.

Actually in some countries they do vaccinate rabbits against diseases not commonly found in North America - What country do you live in Cookie?

Respiratory infections ("snuffles", colds, pneumonia) are the number one killer of pet rabbits so you should be concerned

I would stop handling or playing with your rabbit and let him or her have plenty of undisturbed rest to fight off a possible infection

What sort of foods do you feed your rabbit?

How can you identify snuffles, Dood? I can't really find a good source on the internet.

If it is snuffles; 1 drop of lavender, lemon, thieves, or purification essential oil given per 1/4 gallon of water for a few weeks to a few months should do the trick to help them get on the road to recovery.
For colds; 1 drop of peppermint essential oil per 1/4 gallon of water should help them get better.
Thieves essential oil also helps strengthen the respiratory system. You can have them inhale it straight from the bottle for a few seconds, or put 1 drop of it per 1/4 gallon of water.

A picture would help a lot :)
I hope you figure out whats wrong!