What can I do with the meat on the sides of the rabbit?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ekaelliott

Reaction score
I am fairly new to the meat rabbit thing (about 3 years). I have yet to find a good way to consume the tougher meat that makes up the sides of the rabbit. I tried grinding it last time and it kept clogging up my meat grinder. I know when I cook a whole rabbit in the crock pot it gets cooked and mixes up well with the other meat (rabbit tacos are my favorite) but I'm not sure what else to do with it. Any suggestions?

Do you mean the "belly flaps" that enclose the internal organs? You can use those to make jerky or to add meat to soups and stews or rabbit pie - anything cooked long, moist and slow. My sister and I once stuffed them with mushrooms etc. and rolled them up, wrapping them with bacon. They were deilicious, but you do need to use your teeth to chew them. The younger the fryer they came from, the easier they are to use.

Yes, exactly, the belly flaps! I might try to make jerky with them this time. We butchered nine twelve-week old rabbits last night. I was also thinking of saving all the "belly flaps" and cooking them all in the crock pot at once for some shredded meat for casseroles or enchiladas or something like that. I don't want to waste it!

No, don't waste it - it's good quality lean meat, just on the tough side. It's like flank steak on beef.

It should work well crock potted and shredded.

One thing I do when butchering rabbits is to freeze meal sized portions of each cut. There are three of us here, so I try to butcher in multiples of three to get the best mileage from the meat.

ekaelliott":1eodszfe said:
Yes, exactly, the belly flaps! I might try to make jerky with them this time. I don't want to waste it!

:fainting: Waste it?!?!?!?! :eek: :eek: :eek: