Thoughts on progress...

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crookdbeak13

Reaction score
I posted these pictures to my weights thread, but had no response so I thought I would make a new thread!
These are the "Rex" that I bought a few weeks ago....I know they are either poorly bred or a cross somewhere in their lineage, past the 3 gen pedigree they came with. They are only going to be meat producers, but that doesn't mean I don't need someone that knows the breed better than I for evaluation...They are not posed properly in the pictures, I am still learning and so are they!

Doe#1
1UHZ6h7.jpg

ZyaEWTQ.jpg

liMAdyz.jpg

Doe#2
SqOIUDX.jpg

FyP7enY.jpg

kwAqoUP.jpg

Buck
ddFjVjo.jpg

Amra3oS.jpg

0GRV3Ym.jpg

I actually kinda like the booted castor. She looks like she might be a little long in the shoulder or a Rex but she is nice and round through the loin and hips. Next I comes the broken black and then the broken castor. Both of these look like they have less fullness through the hips and loins. It could partly be camera angle and poising though.

The first two look very long in the shoulder .... the last one looks like it may have pinched hips.

How old are they ?? Kinda small for anything approaching adult age.

They are not quite 5 months yet. The smallest is 3.66lbs(Doe, Broken Castor) 4.03lbs (Doe, Broken Black Otter) and 4.9lbs (Buck, Booted Castor). I thought the 2 does looked a bit long but the Booted Castor was difficult to judge because I couldn't get him to sit still and pose up correctly. The Does aren't perfectly posed either, but he kept kicking his feet out and trying to run from me! I have handled them a bit since I got them, but haven't worked on posing them yet. It's a learning curve for me and them! I appreciate all reviews! Keep 'em coming!