Pellet-less Natural Guinea Pig Diet

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The_Dutchess

Reaction score
I think my guinea pigs are suffering from scurvy (vitamin c deficiency). It would make sense, as they are not on pellets (I can't afford them, still). The have unlimited grass hay and each pig gets 1 cup of veggies (as of right now it's tomatoes, lettuce, cucumbers, zucchini, squash and the occasional carrot as a treat, although they do get a variety of vegetables) a day. I definitely will never be able to buy pellets on a regular basis. The only good brand out there is Oxbow Cavy Cuisine, and IT'S $16.59 FOR A 5 lbs. BAG!!!! So, does anyone here feed their guinea pigs a pellet-free diet? I have no clue about natural feeding, I've never tried it before and I have absolutely no idea what I should do.

They need pounds of fresh greens if you aren't providing vit c. Most of the diet has to be vegetables, fruits, and forages. Otherwise, 1/4th teaspoon per gallon of water (might want to double it for awhile) of vit c crystals http://www.puritan.com/puritans-pride-b ... ?scid=6829

You can get various vit c tablets and put vit c on the food but while it's more stable than water vit c it's harder to measure on the food and both methods will probably end up far more expensive. The vit c tabs marketed specifically for guinea pigs will cost well over pellet prices.

Probably but pills have a lot of junk added to keep them together and stable. You might have trouble finding ways to get them down the pigs if they don't like them and long term you'd have to figure out dosage. Short term I just load them down with vit c to recover from poor diet or keep them healthy until I can put together a better method. Macrodosing even water soluble vitamins has it's problems over time.