Skittish Doe

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JT_Hunter

Reaction score
I am very new to raising rabbits. Last weekend I picked up a 9 month old buck, a 12 month old doe...both NZ...also a mixed doe...NZ / cal...13 months old...she is my problem child...both of the full NZ allow me to pet them...the mix just goes crazy when ever I open her cage...for that matter...whenever I get near her...I can gently stop her in a corner...so I can pet her...and I can feel her muscles quiver at my touch...she buries her face in the corner...her eyes closed...maybe I should just leave her alone...I certainly do not want to make this worse...and I have been very gentle and slow whenever I have made an attempt to touch her...the other 2 rabbits are OK with me....they just lay there and let me pet them...all 3 are waiting on me at feeding time...just the mixed doe seems to have an issue...I had hoped to breed both does this weekend...yet I am reluctant to do so with the mix....maybe that is best answer...not sure...any ideas for me...everyone seems to be eating, drinking, and droppings are OK...so I am at a loss.....Thanks

JT,
have you checked the Doe out?
Maybe she is ready to breed, I once had a Doe that was a bit jumpy
whenever she was not with a litter. Once bred she calmed right down.
When the Kits were weaned she was back to her nervous uneasy self.
I believe that if you handle and do whatever must be done while showing that YOU
are the Alfa she will come back into reality.
Hey, it just might work in your case.
Ottersatin. :eek:ldtimer: