When to separate does and bucks in grow out cages

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tiny Buns

Reaction score
We are raising rabbits to sell for show/breeders/pets. When is the time you separate the boys from the girls in the grow out cage to prevent pre-sale 'accidents'?

The reason I ask is I picked up two 7 week old Holland lops last night and put them in my grow out cage with some 5 and 6 week olds. The 7 week old buck started humping the babies and I got a little concerned. Seems early but I didn't want to take any chances.

I agree, before 4 months old. I'm rather new to sexing bunnies. I am 99% accurate so far. That one percent had a tragic ending last month. Our doe last kindled in February. I thought I had thelma and louise sharing a cage only to come home from vacation and find fur pulled and babies scattered in the bunny barn. Everyone has their own cage now and I am not ready to purposely breed for a while yet - UGH. Thelma is now known as Teddy.

I generally separate my buck and doe kits before 12 weeks, since I've had plenty of doelings ready to breed by 16 weeks.
My bucklings get separated from their dam by 8 or 9 weeks, but sometimes the doelings stay longer.