Tips for a Newcomer to the Pet Market?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The_Dutchess

Reaction score
I am new to the pet market planning on raising Mini Lops for show and pet. The babies I don't keep I will give pet homes. Dont want to send any to freezer camp because my dad won't eat them and I can't handle slaughtering. So does anyone have any tips for a newbie?

As others here told me, and finally convinced me (through logic I could not argue), it is not truly practical to raise rabbits if you have no plan to properly and humanely dispose of rabbits you are unable to sell.

Rabbits produce a lot of offspring. They are known for it. You will, eventually, have rabbits you cannot sell within a reasonable amount of time. Your choices of what to do with those rabbits are limited.

Frankly, I had to come to terms with the fact that if you are unable to 'terminally cull' some of your stock, you should not get into breeding rabbits. Best of luck to you.

Susie worded it a bit more harshly than I would have...but I tend to agree.

There are tips that can help maximize sales, for example:
Rabbits are allowed on craigslist if sold as livestock and not pets, advertising on FB pages before a show to get exposure to breeders, breeding with holiday sales in mind, things like that.
You might even be able to sell excess bunnies off to a pet store, or if you are lucky, you may even find a snake owner or raw feeder you can trust to humanely dispatch...