Age of people showing rabbits

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlueHaven

Reaction score
Are there many seniors showing, or is this more for the 4 h kids?
I see open shows, but I just wonder how many adults show their rabbits.
I am interested in learning to do so, but don't want to be the only old lady in the group.
I groom dogs for a living and have really dedicated myself to my work for the last several years, and I need something else to do or I am going to go nuts.
I had rabbits growing up, and enjoyed them very much, but never showed any. We just had NZW rabbits mostly for meat for the family. I just love some of the varieties out there now, and am looking forward to going to some shows this spring and summer just to watch. I don't even have any rabbits yet, as I am concentraing on putting my cages up first.
Have picked out the breed I like, (rex) but am not even ready to buy one yet. I do know I will only have a four hole set up.
Want to start with a well bred doe and raise a litter, before I get a buck, or I may just get another bred doe If I can find one the quality and color I want. I am picky so it will take me some time. For now I am concentrating on building my hutches, and getting to some shows to just watch and learn.

Both. There's 5 year olds showing, 10 year olds, 19 year olds, 30 year olds..

It's for everyone. Trust me, they'll be happy to show you the ropes. Our open show has a senior class for the adults. At least iirc it does. But yes, there's adults showing as well. And everyone will be more than happy to help you.

It's never too late!