getting my first rabbit

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tt514tt514

Reaction score
Hello guys!
I've decided to add a new animal to my family (just me) after my cockatiel passed away earlier last year. I have 2 hamster, Pip and Giselle, here in Chicago living with me. I'm currently a graduate student and a therapist in training.

I've been eyeing these two rabbits that I saw, one was a holland lop and one was a dutch. The holland lop was very laid back and the dutch approached me instantly and then later the holland lop also came and they were cuddling near the corner of the cage that I was in. I'm so torn since I think I love the dutch a little bit more but I've been looking at some information online and most people said that holland lop are the most cuddly rabbit breed and the dutch isn't. I'm really looking for a calmer laid back rabbit to chill with me and let me cuddle with them ideally. I'm wondering if you guys have any experience and suggestion regarding these two breeds. Another quick question, I'm wondering if the living world XL cage would be sufficient when they are full grown considering having outside of the cage time for a few hours a day. Thanks!

Tim

Like any animal, temperament is not always in sync with the breed. There are those who have had psychotic Silver Foxes and some who had really nice ones. There are gentle Rottweiliers and terror teacup Poodles.

tt514tt514":2zxhktla said:
The holland lop was very laid back and the dutch approached me instantly and then later the holland lop also came and they were cuddling near the corner of the cage that I was in.

I hope you get out of the cage soon. :lol:

I'm not familiar with that cage, but I like at least a 30x30, for a single rabbit, to give them some hopping room... but then my bunnies are spoiled. I built condos for them. :roll: