Crazy buck!

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jessykah

Reaction score
I recently purchased a buck, and have used him for the first time. He is unlike any buck I have had before. He knew what to do when I put a doe with him. For the first doe, piece of cake. She was receptive, job done in no time. Second doe: She wasn't willing. Every time he mounted her, he kept pulling fur out of her like crazy. Just grabbing mouthfulls and spitting it out constantly. Nothing was happening breeding wise, so I put the doe away. There was a LOT of fur on the cage floor, so I put it into a container for later use. I am glad that I did, because I needed to use it shortly after that for another doe's litter. It turned real cold...... I am new to NZW's. Is this characteristic to the breed, or just a fluke, or what? And should I keep him if he continues to do this? None of my other bucks (Mini Rex, Lionhead, etc) have ever done that to a doe. :shrug:

Some bucks are more aggressive breeders then others. My Wooly bucks were notorious for pulling the does wool out. My Mini Rex all through usually avid breeders don't pull fur but they do tend to bite their fur.

I like aggressive bucks.i would keep him.I dont leave my rabbits together more than a few hours anyway.

Yeah, if he is nice to you and doesn't harm the doe past some lost fur, you are ok

Yep, I agree. He's a keeper.

My older (but not old) buck has had one successful mating. It took a while, because he went to great lengths to butter Pearl up to mate with her. The next time I tried to mate him, he hardly even tried anything past buttering the girls up. He's too much of a gentleman. "Oh, you don't want to? Okay, that's alright, I'll just sit over here. Or maybe I'll lick you some more." :evil: