The Fortress of Rabbitude is finished!!!!

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
One of my friends asked while I was building it if it was a double decker couch. I said, Of course! I am a Master Builder!! (Lego Movie reference for those of you not in the know).

I thought it up, sketched it out, struggled with the math (and I still got it slightly wrong but will be easy enough to drop the lower shelf), went to Home Depot and bought my supplies!!!! I had made the cage on the top before I made the shelf system and I had modified it to be like Grumpy's slanted access, which is perfect for the growouts. The bottom cage is 7 inches shorter than the top one (I ran out of wire and had to modify) but it still works with the shelf system.

The shelves are a 1/2 wider and longer than the cage themselves, and the cages inset into the shelf. The top cage is 24x49 grow out (the extra inch is in case I want to divide it into a 24x24) and has two doors. I took plenty of notice from folks here on RT about not being able to access all parts of the big cages!! Right now I've put 4 of the 6 babies into it today and plan to rotate them to mom til Saturday, which is when they'll be almost 5 weeks. Their mom is expecting a litter next week.

The lower cage is 24x42 with a 22x12 access door. This is great for my NZR doe who is expecting next week also!! I miscalculated the height for a 20" cage, so I'm going to have to drop the pan and side supports about two inches, but it can wait. I built the cage in place last night because I just wanted to get it done!!