My new hutch. What do you think? Pic heavy.

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jessykah

Reaction score
So I have no experience with a saw. I never build anything... So I decided it was about time I tried. Bought my supplies. Tools, power saw, drill, etc...bought the wood and had it sticking out the end of my Suzuki Swift car. It was quite funny looking. Almost as funny as when I haul my canoe on top of the car. LOL
Made my own design and measurements.
Of course, with mot things people build, there are regrets afterward. And lessons learned. I learned that the wood is very dry, so I need to pre-drill holes, then use screws NOT nails. The frame was pulling apart a lot. So I bought the drill, the screws, and reinforced it. Worked great. I also learned that I had accounted for everything except the water bottles. I forgot how tall my bottles are, so the wire they came with won't fit. In the mean time I am using twine, but I will replace that with longer wire.
I forgot to brace the legs better. It is fine now. But so that it lasts longer, I will put some more support braces on the legs.
I stained the roof and legs for now to protect from water damage, because I couldn't get any roofing materials yet. I plan to put something else on it later on.
What do you think? I know, I could do better next time, but it is working for now.

Attachments

• DSCF0414.JPG
    DSCF0414.JPG
    591.1 KB · Views: 30,693
  • DSCF0413.JPG
    DSCF0413.JPG
    954.3 KB · Views: 30,696
  • DSCF0412.JPG
    DSCF0412.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 30,696
  • DSCF0407.JPG
    DSCF0407.JPG
    1 MB · Views: 30,698
  • DSCF0406.JPG
    DSCF0406.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 30,696
  • DSCF0405.JPG
    DSCF0405.JPG
    1,009 KB · Views: 30,693
  • DSCF0404.JPG
    DSCF0404.JPG
    1,021.6 KB · Views: 30,694
  • DSCF0403.JPG
    DSCF0403.JPG
    904.2 KB · Views: 30,697
  • DSCF0402.JPG