Need help evaluating a Holland

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bantambunnies

Reaction score
I am fairly new to Holland Lops. I've never shown rabbits.
BUT I am learning. I've been looking at a LOT of photos to try to get a picture in my mind of what a Holland should look like. I've got a basic idea now, but I've still very fuzzy on the specifics.

This is my Holland buck. He's a year-old blue/fawn tri. I haven't actually weighed him yet, but I'd say he's pretty big - around 4-5 lbs.
He is at least brood quality, correct?

Please tell me about his good and bad points.
I'm especially interested in his crown. Is it badly slipped? Or okay?

I don't breed Hollands but Mini Lops who are definitely not show quality :D and others will have more experience but here is my opinion.

Brood quality generally means that the genetics are there but something disqualifies the rabbit from a show table. It could be that they have a white mark, lack the dwarf gene, or ar a little weak in ONE area but if crossed a the right mate you could luck out and get a show worthy kit.

It also generally applies to just the females of the dwarf breeds since true dwarf does can have difficulties giving birth and it is recommended to breed a true dwarf buck to a bigger false dwarf doe and never a large male on a dwarf female.

Your bucks crown is slipped and is too low and far back on his head, this is is difficult to fix and can cause "airplane" or forward pointing ears in his offspring.

He is weak in this hind end and the arch in his back is too steep and not rounded - again, this is very difficult to fix by breeding to a better doe.

Give that he is over sized, has a poor crown and body form I would not consider him breeding quality to create show worthy rabbits.

BUT