Does killing/eating babies

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Skyz84

Reaction score
Let me start out by saying I've been breeding rabbits on and off for 10 years. I'm well aware of new mom's not caring for kits but these 3 bunnies have me stumped.
This happened to me last summer so I think the summer heat may have something to do with it. Then maybe the food I'm feeding? However, I was hoping to get a few opinions.

We live in S. Texas and my bunnies are kept in an outdoor shaded area. I've been feeding Wendlands Rabbit Pellets. It's not my choice pellets (Manna Pro) but Wendlands is $13/50lbs vs Manna Pro's $18/50lbs. I feed pellets free choice. Pregnancy momma's & mom's with babies also have access to coastal hay and all bunnies get a tiny handful for Timothy Hay daily.

Momma #1: failed to raise her 1st 2 litters. She nested so heavily it almost looked like she smothered them. Pulls more hair then I have ever seen. Babies were not eaten. Just purple and squished under all the hair. Finally on her 3rd litter she had 1 live. She raised it up to just shy of 4 weeks old. I was so happy. It was a beautifully marked Tri Mini Rex (what I'm working on). I never touched the baby in fear of new momma rejecting it. I was planning to pull it out at 5 weeks old. However, just before it turned 4 weeks old, I came out to it missing... only it's head remained. :x :(