Rac

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mystryda

Reaction score
So I'm very new to this.

Two weeks ago I got a mating pair of New Zealands along with eight of their month-old litter (the two best were kept by the previous owner).

I also got a 4 x 8 hutch that had a solid floor (vinyl covered). It's sitting just a few inches off the ground. I back to several square miles of woods.

Everything was fine for the first week. Last Saturday I replaced part of the vinyl floor with 1/2" hardware cloth to try to improve the sanitation.

Tuesday I found two of the runts dead. One of them has had a sore (even when I got it) about the size of a pea on her back. I didn't see any other marks. Assumed it was shock from the move/infant mortality/what happens to runts. I didn't find them over the hardware cloth, but they weren't that far away.

This evening I found two more dead, and though they weren't the biggest they were certainly vigorous little bunnies. The rear-end of one was opened up and the other had a wound on it's underside. I found them on top of the hardware cloth.

My working theory is that I've got a raccoon/predator visiting for a nocturnal snack. As such I blocked off the hardware cloth area until I can prove/disprove/improve. The problem with this theory, to me, is that the first two runts didn't have any obvious wounds, but maybe I just didn't look closely enough.

Or is something else going on?

Thanks. I'd like to figure this out before I lose all my rabbits.

It sounds like predators to me. The two without noticeable wounds could have been frightened to death, or killed by running around trying to get away. Or maybe the wounds were missed. Based on your description, I really believe you have predators.

A couple of suggestions:

1. Raise the hutch- put it on blocks or make legs for it- get it off the ground.