French Angora Jr Coat Sr Coat question

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ckcs

Reaction score
I have 3 French Angoras that are just over 5 months old. They haven't molted yet. Early on I ran into problems with grooming and they got matted on me. I had to cut a lot of lower fur from my does and my buck I just cut him completely. The does fur is just so soft and it doesn't fluff up very well at all. Is this common for a jr coat? I was taking pictures of them tonight and oddly enough the buck that I had clipped looked the best. His fur while not very long had a lot of body to it. Does cutting the fur stimulate the Sr coat to grow? If my does don't molt soon I might consider cutting them if that encourages Sr coat growth. From what I have read the Jr coats aren't as nice to work with as Sr coats, is that also correct?

I am just getting into rabbit ownership, but I'm curious if anyone has an opinion about this as well. Some Asian cultures routinely shave their babies' head after birth with the belief that it will allow the hair to grow in thicker and fuller if you do so.

It may seem thicker because instead of a bunch of hairs at different lengths growing in (as an untouched coat would be), most of his hair is the same length due to the shearing which gives it a thicker texture.

Pure conjecture, but that is my guess.

Baby coats are screwy, depending on lines.

In Jersey Woolies, I cut all of the baby coats after 12 weeks. The coats are gorgeous, soft with some guard hairs and showable, then all the sudden they start to matt badly, and I have a tangled mess that will result in me cutting the sr prime coat cause it's matted in the jr coat.

The Angoras, not so much. I have not had to cut a jr coat. I let them go until the bun is 6 mos old, then I cut it just because it's 4-5 inches long.