Harlequins - white foot

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ladysown

Staff member
Reaction score
Been doing a bit of reading here and there on the white foot factor in Harlequins.

Some breeders/sources say to cull it out hard that it is usually the result of something in the buck. And to cull out everything from that line.

other breeders/sources say that it's an anomaly that just shows up once in a while and to cull out any that exhibit it.

Still others say it's the result of breeding magpie to japanese varieties.

What do the rest of you harle breeders think?

I just figure..they can't be shown, so why not pet them out or add them to the stew pot. Seems incorrect to use them for breeding. But I'm still fairly new at this game and wonder what others that breed them think.

I don't know about whitefoot in harlies, but since you're talking harlequins...thought I'd ask how big do they get? I know they're a meat breed, but they're supposed to be a bit smaller than the NWZ...and also how quickly do they grow to the fryer size?

7-9 pounds, though I have one big doe pushing that limit.

as to how quickly they grow to fryer size? about two weeks longer than New Zealands though I had one litter grow as quick as one new zealand litter. NZ litter had ten, the harle litter (raised by mini rex doe) had four.

When you join the American Harlequin Club they send you a booklet with articles written by LONG LONG time harle breeders. It's got tons of great information about breeding harlequins. They do address the "white spotting gene" issue. It appears most commonly as white toes or white feet, but the gene itself can cause white patches to appear anywhere on the Japanese harlequin. (This is not just a harlequin gene, it causes havoc in other breeds as well).