Register

Need some grooming advice HELP

Keeping rabbits for their wool and methods of using it.
7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership
United States of America Male
BunnyBucks: 5,215.00

Need some grooming advice HELP

Post Number:#1  Unread postby ckcs » Sat Apr 12, 2014 1:39 pm

I am new to Angora Rabbits. I have 3 French Angoras that are about 3 months old. Since they were little I have been brushing them and things seemed to be going well. The past week or two I discovered that I was doing an inadequate job grooming them. I brushed them on the top and sides. The underbellies I checked and they were not bad. I found out that the area on the lower sides at the front and back are getting matted. I'm guessing my grooming was completely missing those areas. As a result I have areas that are a little smaller than a golf ball that are matted. The fur is clean, it just all knotted up. I've been trying for days to work the mats out and can't seem to get them out. I've trimmed some of the fur in that area and it helps but the mats seem close to the skin. I will pay more attention to those areas in the future but for now do you have any tips for working out mats.

Site Supporter
7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership
BunnyBucks: 32,531.00

Re: Need some grooming advice HELP

Post Number:#2  Unread postby Dood » Sat Apr 12, 2014 2:05 pm

I use a very dull steak knife to carefully cut the fur when it is close to the skin - as rabbit fur is so fine, just a little pressure should cause it to break.

A single scissor blade can also work.

8 years of membership8 years of membership8 years of membership8 years of membership8 years of membership8 years of membership8 years of membership8 years of membership
United States of America Female
BunnyBucks: 48,829.00