Why Won't My Rabbits Breed?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

evankliewer

Reaction score
Hello there,

My name is Evan and I'm just starting out with rabbit breeding. I was given two bunnies, one of each gender, and I expected that the phrase "breed like rabbits" would make sense once I put the two together. Unfortunately, the female rabbit is not particularly fond of the male being around. The male rabbit doesn't always show interest in her when I put them together, but when he does, she won't cooperate. She makes honking noises when he approaches her and she gets very aggressive.

At first, they shared a cage. Then, I separated the two of them so that they couldn't see each other. Finally, after consulting a veterinarian, she recommended that I keep the two rabbits in separate cages, but close to each other. Unfortunately, this has not yielded positive results.

Here is a video of the two of them: http://youtu.be/WNyORmPl6lQ

I'll get the basic questions out of the way...are you sure it is in fact a buck and a doe? Have you checked the doe to see if she is in season before putting her in with the buck? about how old are they (some rabbits mature a little slower then others) how long do you wait between attempts to mate them, or how long has it been since your last attempt? has the doe ever had a litter before?

I think they are acting rather normal for a not-too-pushy buck and a doe who isn't interested in breeding with him.

There are 101 things you can try. I don't know if there is any one 100% "this will do it" method.

Oh, and they are lovely :) Welcome to RT!