Bald spots after plucking?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LBMBarbalooski

Reaction score
I am still a newbie to this raising French Angora rabbit thing. I was so excited when we got our first rabbits and have set about grooming our two on a regular basis. Late last November I thought my chocolate tort was ready to harvest her wool. I got an awful lot of fiber off her using a steel toothed comb. I wasn't certain if I had really harvested all her wool since it was still really long even though I had a large bag filled with it from her weekly grooming.

Fast forward to mid January and I realized that I had indeed not plucked her very well. I could see the new coat coming in when I blew into her coat so I set up some time to really pluck her well. Since I'm not really certain how to do it, I watched several videos online about it. I still primarily used the steel toothed comb and got vast more quantities of fiber than I had back in November. I finally did get the hang of plucking and did it over several days, partly because I didn't realize how much work it took and partly because she seemed to need a break after so long of me messing with her. She's never been the content type of rabbit to just sit there for long periods like my rew does.

Now she is properly plucked except that she has these patches here or there where you can see her pink skin and other patches were there is a new coat growing. Then there are the long comb over strands that just never seemed to get plucked. After all is said and done, I see now why so many people just shear their rabbits. She is acting like a joyful little rabbit now, kicking and jumping around during play time and making all sorts of "messes" in her cage with tossing her toys around. She's a feisty little thing.