Do rabbits growl or purr?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LBMBarbalooski

Reaction score
I haven't been a rabbit raiser for very long but I remember watching a video on rabbit care recently where they were saying rabbit have a sort of purr they do with their teeth when they are content. I couldn't hear it on the video but wondered what it sounds like. My two French Angoras have been making sounds that I'm still learning what they mean. The older one will make a grunting noise and thumps loudly on the cage or floor when she doesn't want to be picked up. Amazing how quickly they learn the words I use. The younger rabbit made a noise three times yesterday that was a cross between a growl and a purr. Not sure if she was enjoying me petting her or mad that I was bothering her. Please tell me I'm not the only one who hears these things with my bunnies. I'm hoping I will eventually figure out what this new sound means for this bunny.

So my question is, do rabbits growl or purr? How do you know the difference?

I've never heard a purr, but I've been buzzed at in annoyance, growled at by momma does, and I even have a doe that doesn't scream, but goes on like a guinea pig when I try to groom her on the days she's not up for it. I know I did nothing to hurt or scare her, she's just voicing her opinion on how she doesn't think she needs groomed that day.

I've also had a Flemish doe that would sing. It was pretty cute.

So my question is, do rabbits growl or purr?
Yes
How do you know the difference?
Body language.

A growl is usually associated with the rabbit tensing up and ready for fight or flight. They may stomp a hind foot or their two front ones.

Purring is associated with the rabbit relaxing and often leaning into the contact. Their eyes are often half open and they may even nudge your hand if you stop.