Meat Rabbit litter growth: questions and my results

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cereshill

Reaction score
Those who know me realize I have been raising buns since July 09. As such, I am no expert. However, I have learned a lot form all of you!

Here are my questions:

I feed a diet of oats, hay, some greens and water. Occasionally, BOSS and some pellets (I buy a bag a month for the herd). My litters seem light in size/weight and growout is slower. What should I expect, what should I change? I realize, I have made a choice for a more natural product--and I am ok with slower growth--but I don't want stunted buns either.

Thank you

Don't know what's happening in your herd, CH, but in mine the buns take about 14 - 16 weeks to make it to butchering size on a natural diet. Growth is slower... but by the time they are full grown they are full sized for their type. Not sure what you mean by stunted... do some of yours never get to the size you expect or do they just take longer to do so?

what kind of hay are you feeding? Wheat or oats are only 12% protein (give or take .5) If the hay is alfalfa...you are upping the protein to a reasonable level (it's generally 18 to 19% as hay...they only use the leaves for the pellets..and that gives them a 20+%). If you're using grass hay...that's very low protein.

Protein levels is VERY important in horses, which I'm extremely familiar with...and apparently in rabbits it's important for growth as well.

Oh, and here's something from the horse world that may be applicable to buns and natural feeding...a good pasture will be higher in nutrients and protein than grains and hay. Herbivores do get more from fresh than they do from dried.

Ok--so our hay is from our fields---never been ferlilized nor planted so I know its low in protein.