wwyd? cold pup

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pastelsummer

Reaction score
ok noel is an only puppy. She is chilly to the touch whenever i check her and is inside already with mama we believe she was born on the 23rd of dec and she feels thinner and lighter i worry since she is so chilled she may be 2 cold to eat. i hold her and warm her a couple times a day. but mama is only making milk in the back 2 teats. what if anything should i do?

can you give her a warming pad? Pile straw around her? Give her lots of things to cuddle into? Bring her into the house?

NOTE: I am NOT a puppy expert.

she is in the house as soon as we found her her and mama came into the house. i think she would be dead if she was still outside. she has a pillow in there to keep her off the floor but blankets seem to get shoved out by mama

could she have something wrong with her? if she can't keep warm... I would wonder if there's something not quite right. In the house she should be warm... Can you put her next to a heater? could it be that momma simply isn't milking enough? can you supplement the pup?

thats what i am thinking is mama isnt feeding enough i know if you walk into the bedroom she will walk away from noel and not feed again until later when no one is present that part of why she is in the bedroom away from the main foot traffic in the house

a single pup should be able to get enough milk with very little being produced - you are right she needs to be warm to be able to use the food she's getting

things to try

heat rice bags/snuggle safe pads in the microwave
hot water bottles
heat towels in a dryer and give them to her

make sure you warm her right up many many times a day no matter how you do it
stimulate her frequently - full body rubs with a warm towel or facecloth works best