Introducing litters, doe, and new does

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WildWolf

Reaction score
Would introducing 2 new does to a doe and her 10week old litter be too much stress? Would I be better off waiting for the litter to be sold before introducing the new does? The 10 week old bucks can be separated the same day I introduce the does, or they can be separated a week earlier.

I think I have enough room for 3 does and 1 litter. Basically I have a 10ft by 20ft run attached to a 13ft by 3ft hutch (some of you might know that it is a bit more complicated than that... but that's about how much room I have), plus hidey holes. If I don't have enough space, please let me know!

If you have had experience in an introduction like this, please share advice!! Thank you all in advance

I'm not very experienced, but I don't think the kits are a concern. I would remove the bucks about 10 weeks anyhow.

My colony is about 10ft by 12ft I think (uh.. not used to thinking in feet) and had as many as 4 does and a litter of 10 kits with no problem. The kits were small by that time, but I don't think it matters.

They may still fight or chase around, but that's always a risk..

Good luvck and hope you get betyter answers soon :)

Thanks. I will separate the bucks then. I wonder, if there are more rabbits, will they be less likely or more likely to fight? Especially if those extra rabbits are kits- would they feel that fighting too rough might hurt the kits, or would they even care about a stranger's kits? Would the doe be more protective of her kits, even though they are weaned by then?

rom what I've heard it's easier to introduce new rabbits to a large colony than a small.. I suppose an extra two does make less differense if there are a lot to start with, than if there's just a few :)