Rex colors

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trinityoaks

Reaction score
I just got a castor SR buck. I want to get two does to breed him with. What colors of does should I look for in order to get the widest color variety? (PLEASE keep it simple--I'm a complete genetics newbie!) Here is the buck's color background:

Sire: Castor
Dam: Black

GSire: Castor
GDam: Castor
GSire: Blue
GDam: Black Otter

GGSire: Broken Castor
GGDam: Castor
GGSire: Broken Castor
GGDam: Castor
GGSire: Broken Blue
GGDam: Blue
GGSire: Black Otter
GGDam: Black

You might want to try an REW.
Red eyed White. There is no telling what colors are hiding under that coat.
It might be an experience to view the first litter from her and your Buck.
Just a thought.
Ottersatin.

I have a castor rex.. which i bred to a chestnut dwarf/angora mix doe..

first time I got a chestnut and an orange one
second time i got 3 chestnuts, 2 oranges, 2 blues and a cream one

all background I know is mom had black siblings... and dad had a castor mom and castor and blue siblings...

seeing you know the background a bit more.. it´d depend on what you want to achieve.. I´d go with a blue or some otter... or a very dark castor to get richer color.. I like darker colors.. but i might be biased ;)

REW could be interesting and could show you some underlying genetics but unless you like surprises I would not get a REW doe to use for more than a litter or 2. You may have no idea what an REW is carrying and might just end up spending another generation or 2 breeding some stuff back out if you are trying for show quality colors or especially specific colors. More good quality castors would probably be best. Some use blacks or blues. Blue may get you opal which is not suggested to be bred back to castor unless you are fixing an existing color problem. I don't know much about the otters.