Is there alternative to trace mineral salt blocks?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Julz

Reaction score
Hi, could I substitute a salt block with sea salt or something else? preferably i want to make my own ingredients, we live by the sea and was wondering would kelp seaweed be an option?...I'm still learning :)

Theres a high risk of toxics and unhealthy waste in seas. Make sure to check that :)
Salt blocks are also for minerals. Just remember that.

Somewhere along the line, I got it in my head that kelp/seaweed is not safe for rabbits. Not sure now where that came from. There is a supplement made for horses called Source which includes kelp/seaweed in the ingredients. I give some to my chickens but not my rabbits because of that notion I got in my head.

Anyone know if it is safe to feed kelp or other seaweeds to rabbits?

I don't know Frecs, I thought it was supposed to be good for all animals. It will be interesting to dig into that. I used to use it for my goats but its so hard to get it here. They love it, the only reason I didn't share it with the rabbits was b/c its so hard to get.
Hope someone else has input on this, now I'm curious. :)

Zab":3ojanhrn said:
Theres a high risk of toxics and unhealthy waste in seas. Make sure to check that :)
Salt blocks are also for minerals. Just remember that.
thanx zab, I will check it out :)<br /><br />__________ Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:14 pm __________<br /><br />
rawfeeder":3ojanhrn said:
Here is a link with a step by step tutorial on how to make your own salt mineral block:

http://www.wikihow.com/Make-a-Salt-Lick-for-Horses

You defiantly need the minerals and not just salt. Me thinks its just easier to buy it.. get the large ones for horses/cattle/goats and chip it into smaller blocks. It will last a long time if you don't have a ton of rabbits?