vermicomposting (worm beds) using RabbitPoo!

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Ummm...newbie here...so you are doing this because worm poop is superior to rabbit poop????

Ummm...newbie here...so you are doing this because worm poop is superior to rabbit poop????
As far as using worm and rabbit manure to grow plants, the comparison of the two is like comparing an apple with a squash. Both are good for you nutritionally, but contain different vitamins and minerals.

If you look at worm compost for example, it is full of beneficial mesophilic bacteria, fungi and microbes, but more importantly it contains plant growth regulators and hormones, most notably auxins. Here's a link for more info:

http://www.vermiculture.ca/transform/worm_castings.htm

I've made different kinds of vermicompost, and the best I've used by far was made with rabbit manure, wood shavings, and shredded newspaper. :)
When it's all processed, I remove the worms and mix it with potting soil to start seeds with. It's wonderful stuff.
I had my worm castings tested by a lab a few years ago. I'll see if I can scan and copy and post it for you. It was really interesting...

When I move the little seedlings outside to the garden, I use a few handfuls of worm compost in the planting hole, a big handful of leaves, and top dress with rabbit manure. But I also throw a lot of everything else onto and into the soil too though. Old hay, straw, grass clippings, egg shells, composted hen poop. It's all good food for the soil's micro life. I like to think they like a little variety in their diet too. :)

-Kyah