Wanting to breed for a vienna gene buck...

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shara

Reaction score
Okay, now that I am pretty sure my doe has a vienna gene, I want to use er to get a viena buck, to breed back and get blue-eyed white kits! (under, of course, the guise of merely breeding for the table ;) )

I have also heard that californian bred to anything only makes more californian colored rabbits. Is this true? If it is, will I have o breed to a different buck to see the vienna gene come out in the kits?

Does this make sence?

I bred a cali to a mutt and didn't always get californian colored kits. We got dilute brokens and much darker himilayans, as I remember, some like mom, some like pop. However I am not an expert at all!

Now Shara, repeat after me--only for the freezer, only for the freezer...you and I may need a 12-step program...Uh-oh...

eco2pia":r9ckcnae said:
Now Shara, repeat after me--only for the freezer, only for the freezer...you and I may need a 12-step program...Uh-oh...
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

On that note, Shara, I have read that some people have trouble sending blue-eyed whites to freezer camp. For real.

well, okay, If I got a blue eyed white (or two) I would probably keep them :tomato: although don't tell my hubby that! :p

Eco2pia, we are in neighboring states! Maybe you and me and some OTHER poeple that live close to here (don't worry, I won't mention names, Paula) could start the very first one!!! :mrgreen:

Lol. Still, I think it would be VERY cool, no?

I really neeeeed to move to the country. Grrr....Or find out that I can have as many rabbits as I like. Or just hide them! What big brother don't know won't hurt him! :annihilate: Lol.