placing pets

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AprilW

Reaction score
Do you screen pet homes for quality or sell your pets to the first person with money?

Good question, Maggie!

I do screen all pet buyers. I have a pet rabbit application on my website (which mimics what many dog breeders use), I ask a lot of questions and provide a lot of information in response to their questions. After meeting a pet buyer in person, I take time to answer any of their other questions and quickly go over basic rabbit care. I am also available to take back the rabbit, without compensation, at any time after the sale.

I never sell to someone who doesn't seem like they really care about being a responsible pet owner.

I've been doing pet sales for three years.

I normally do first come, first served. I have on two separate occasions simply raised the price of a given bunny to more than I knew the person would pay. That way they save face (from me saying NO, I won't sell you a bunny), and I give them more time to research having a bunny (which I encourage them to do by walking them through bunny care needs, referring them to my rabbit care page, and showing them my easy to read bunny book). I have turned down one sale. Three year old owner, inattentive mommy. I phrased it in such a way that the bunny was just too skittish for her daughter and she might want to find a bunny elsewhere (and yes, I made the bunny seem skittish). She went elsewhere, and two months later I got a bunny that wasn't originally mine given to me to rehome. Poor thing needed a month to chill out.