Pellet ingredients - fish meal / blood meal??

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tbgb1912

Reaction score
So I'm looking at different pellet mixes and varieties of food really, and I'm completely new to the whole breeding/feeding/rabbit raising scenario. But I was looking at the ingredients of one mix and noticed blood meal and fish meal, what is this? It sounds super bizarre, and is it healthy? I mean obviously if it's rabbit food right?

Here was what the bag had on it:

Nutritional information
Crude protein min %16.5
Crude fibre Max %15.0
Fat max %7
Salt max %1

Ingredients: wheat, barley, maize, peas, bloodmeal, fishmeal, molasses, salt, tallow, limestone, methionine, Lucerne meal, trace elements, vitamins.

So basically, my question is, is this a healthy diet for my rabbits? And can I bring kits up on this? (Along with a variety of fruit and vege and garden weeds of course) and/or what should I be looking for specifically in an ideal base food for my rabbits?

Zass":3tdecwsj said:
That's a weird rabbit feed. :shock:
It is possible to feed rabbits animal proteins, and they may be healthy on it.
But... I wouldn't feed it to mine.

What things should I be looking for?

Is this combination any better?

Crude Protein 17.0% Minimum
Fibre 16.0% Maximum
Fat 5.0% Maximum
Salt 0.6% Maximum

Lucerne, Maize, , Pollard, Soya Bean Meal, Coconut Meal, Limestone, Dicalcium Phosphate, Salt, Minerals & Vitamins, Molasses, Synthetic Amino Acids. <br /><br /> -- Sat Apr 11, 2015 1:49 pm -- <br /><br /> Or option 3

Analysis: Crude Protein (Min) 17.50%, Crude Fat (Min) 5.00%, Crude Fibre (Min) 9.00%

Ingredients