Parasite prevention

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mytdogs

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am reading a lot about parasites lately. I am wondering how you all prevent parasites, both internal & external.

It sounds like all kinds of badness comes from the hay! I figured if I kept my buns healthy with a good natural diet I would be able to overcome parasites but I think I may need to be a proactive at least in the beginning anyway. I (foolishly?) thought that if I can start out with worm free/mite free/Coccidia free parents I'd be okay but now it seems like they will be constantly challenged by cooties! :eek: So I want to plan in advance of the cootie arrival-LOL!

Thanks!

I personally dont get it.
I have been breeding rabbits for many, many years and never had a problem nor needed to treat for any worms or anything.
I have bred over the years many different breeds.
I feed wild greens, grasses, hay, shrubbery, tree branches, all sorts of wild foods and farmed foods and never had an issue.
I never feed fruits or veggy since buns are natural herbivores and not vegetarians.
I have hay available 24/7 as its good maintenance.
I dont get worms, diarrhea, I dont get sick buns. I dont get fat or thin buns either.

IMO, you shouldn't need to worry about worms. If you do then I would say the buns have weaken immune systems and shouldn't be bred or their feed has veggy, fruit or other food they dont need in it.
Maybe people just dont follow a very important rule and it shows in weaker rabbits. 'Breed the best, cull the rest'.
And cull doesn't mean sell as that is just putting low quality back into the breeding circuit.

I also have a rule. If a bun gets sick and doesnt quickly recover on its own..cull.
I breed only rabbits that never get sick or wormy.
I have had kits not as hardy as they should be, culled them all.
Allergy rabbits is another, I cull.