Outide living... new ideas and advice pls

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Liesl

Reaction score
Hi all,
So I have two rabbits and a guinea pig, they are pets and cherished and loved so I built them a nice run and hutch when I got them all however they all adults now, very active and the weather and the guinea have destroyed their place so need to build a new one. I want it to be easily accessible (getting in and out) and also spacious and safe for my babies. I also want to try have an open floor and not wire as the guinea just rips it all up and its just not safe for them. I also want to know if its possible to do an open top? Please can you assist, I am very new to this and want to make sure I do it correctly. Thanks so much guys. Any ideas and advice would be great.

Is this were they will stay 100% of their time? If so, rabbits will eventually dig out of an open floor. In my run I dug down about a foot and placed plywood on the ground, then backfilled it with the dirt I dug out. This gives them some dirt to dig in without being able to get out or hurt their feet on wire. Depending on the predators in your area they will also need a top on their enclosure. Hawks, dogs, bobcats, and coyotes will all get into an enclosure with no top.

AmberRae is right on both counts. Outdoor rabbits and guinea pigs need to be protected from predators and safely contained so the pets cannot dig out. I don't know what predators you might have in South Africa, but even neighbourhood dogs and cats can kill rabbits easily.