Register

New Member - New mini-rabbitry

Site News, Announcements, Posting Guidelines and Introductions.
Site Supporter
Canada
BunnyBucks: 354.00

New Member - New mini-rabbitry

Post Number:#1  Unread postby Ferra » Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:49 pm

Hello!

I'm just getting started with my first little rabbitry. I've got a breeding trio, in a stacked caging system with trays, in a shed behind our house. They're still growing up, the does are ~4 months, the buck is ~6 months. I'm primarily going to be breeding for meat and pelts (for my own use only), but might expand someday into pure-bred stock. (I like Satin and French Angoras, but Silver Fox also caught my eye.)

I was originally looking into starting a dual-purpose Angora and meat rabbitry: I've been hand-spinning and weaving for well over 7 years now, so having my own fibre-herd was appealing. But in the research phase I hit a snag; I couldn't find anyone locally breeding French or Satin Angoras. I had one local lady with a pair that, after inquiring, I was told was too closely related to consider as breeding stock. Given that and a few other points about that keeper which came up in conversation, I decided it was best not to purchase her stock, and had to look elsewhere.