newbie needs baby feeding help

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

besh

Reaction score
OK so I am a newbie to having rabbits. I have 3 adults in a humungous hutch outside with a yard for them to play in. While feeding the other day I found a nest!! I saw movement and pulled aside and saw 4 rabbits approx2-3 weeks and 6 pinkies. I made the huge mistake of bringing the mom and all babies inside Into a small hutch. That was 3 days ago. Woke up this morning and all pinkies were dead, one even bloodied. The other 4 babies are active and doing well. However, I notice them trying to scurry under her to feed and she kicks them off. I even tried gently petting her while one nurses and she will not let them. I know they only feed small amounts but I don't know if she is feeding at all now that I interfered. What do I do??? She seems to be rough with them. Running around right over them. So right this moment I have her in a hutch and they are in a Rubbermaid alone. I am clueless what to do. Put them back in and let them be, or keep them separated and feed them myself? If I need to feed what? I feel terrible that this happened :(

If the older babies are only 2-3 weeks old, you had two does give birth. Assuming you didn't get the does already bred, the first thing you need to do is figure out which of your rabbits is a buck. Does will rebreed immediately after giving birth if a buck is near, so the dam of the 2-3 week old kits will be kindling again in a week or so. The doe that had the pinkies is probably rebred as well. Figure out who the buck is and seperate him asap.