Need fast and desperate help with lionhead colours so I don’

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Ok, I just bought out a breeder. I got a slew of lionheads. Need to sell a few, because I’m a farmer and now I just have too many bunnies. I have two chocolate bucks! One is dilute...chocolate lilac I believe...single mane. I was told the other is straight chock...but I thought he was chestnut.

Anyways, the girls I’m keeping...black, double mane, mocha chocolate double mane..gegourgeos, next is May another diluted chocolate lilac!? The last is dark...couldn’t get a good picture of two bunnies last night..I will today. Here’s the ones I’ve got today.

So, from my research so far...my dilute buck, has recessive genes, and he won’t make much difference. The dark buck..with impact the offering? I was think to keep the lighter buck since so many of Mt girls are dark colours. But if dilut is so recessive then, there is no point. And he’d make a great pet!

I just tried a million times to add my pictures, but it didn’t work...ugh ugh.ugh!!

I don't have a clue as to the genetics on the single or double mane since I don't do lionheads, but as for the colors here's a quick breakdown of the basic ones. Since I don't know what you don't know, it will start out really basic:

There's five basic color genes in rabbits: ABCDE. They are in pairs so each rabbit has two of each: AABBCCDDEE. Each parent gives one letter to make the pair that each of their offspring will have. Traditionally, a dominant gene will be shown using a capitol letter such as "A" and a recessive will be designated by a lower case letter such as "a".