Most affectionate/cuddly rabbit breeds?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ToesInTheSand

Reaction score
So I'm new to rabbits, and am looking for a "companion". I'm a dog person, so I'm looking for a rabbit breed as close to that as I can get. I've narrowed it down to mini lops, lionheads, and mini rex, (I always wanted a flemish giant, but how large does their cage need to be?)..I am open to other suggestions. For cage I was thinking 24"x24", or should I get a 24"x30". Thanks for your help.

Why would you keep a "companion" in a cage anyway?

I had a beveran that I used to take for walks all the time.

For cuddle value I'd go with a french lop.

He would only be caged when I'm at work/away from home. I work part time, and have a large backyard. So I plan on getting a harness/xpen and letting him romp outside.

I 2nd Ivory's suggestions, especially the french lop. I used to raise those and they are soooo sweet. Also would add the American Blue or American White rabbit. I have these now and they are very sweet and very cuddly.
As far as cage size for a med to large rabbit would be a bare minimum 30x36 which would be kinda small for some of the flemish giants and a couple of the larger french lops I had. Back then they were bred for size sometimes and I had a 15 pound doe! She was in a 48x30 cage.
Good luck with your discision :) but be warned......rabbits can be addictive! ;) :D

I'll look more into the American Blue, I found 2 breeders near me. For the French Lop I'm having a harder time finding a breeder, I didn't see any TX breeders on the ARBA website.