Mixing litters of juvenilles?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cereshill

Reaction score
I have a batch of three that are a month and need to be weaned as I accidentally rebred momma. I also have an orphan/sole survivor that is slightly larger at 9 weeks. All females--ok to mix in a cage?

thx

Have they been near each other at all? I'm no expert on rabbits, but maybe a day of being in the cage together, but with a divider of wire between them? so they get used to each other.

I'd probably put in a box that the little guys could get in to...so they could have a hidey hole to get away from the big guy. Although the bigger one may welcome the company :)

oh..and welcome to the FORUM!!

I wouldn't pull the month old babies til the last minute .. but yes I would say if there is enough space they could live together - let them meet through wire first then if possible put them all into neutral territory with lots of things to do and places to hide

watch (of course) but I'm betting all will be ok

It should be okay... but there is quite an age gap. If you let the younger ones have possession before adding the one older one, that should help even the playing field. Letting them get acquainted through the wire is a good idea, if you can swing it. :) Nice to see you over here, CH!

four week old kits with one 9 week old kit?

I'd put them all in a new cage all at the same time and give them a whack of hay as soon as they are all in. Give them a box to play with and they'll be fine. four week old kits will do the "i'm submissive" thing and the older one will chill out.

I put one in; the older one has chased a little. the younger is submissive; I may add another tomm too. I want the doe to have some time to rest as she is due in 2 weeks; mistakenly rebred after a night out (claude looked lonely so I gave in...)

cereshill - how many popples do you have now?